Member Lesley Rush blogs about the Farm Share …

“Save the Best for Last”

Farm Members:

I know this is a long time coming, but if you’re like me you’ve been too busy eating your vegetables to write much down.  In fact, I’m gnawing on a carrot as I type this.  If it’s true, as they say, that you are what you eat, I must be a two legged basket of Love Farm Vegetables.

This CSA share has done wonders for our diet–we eat at home most nights of the week and it has really improved the health of our diets.  I’ve added all manner of vegetables to a can of black beans for a filling and healthful take on quesadillas; how about farm vegetables creole–this too is good for clearing out the fridge and doesn’t take much time to prepare if you serve with quick cooking grits or polenta.  And carrot fries!  Corn on the Cob!  I’m not a baker, but zucchini bread would be a great recipe to add to my repertoire. On an evening when we might be in a rush and formerly would have headed to the taqueria or picked something up from the grocery deli, we’ve made interesting combos of grains, protein and all manner of Love Farm Produce.  It’s easy to take a short cut and pick something up, but I know we are eating much more balanced and nutritious meals as a result of this farm share. As much fun as I have been having eating all these wonderful things, I still catch myself cramming the night before a farm share pick up.  If you read my previous post about pulling a veggie all nighter, you know how hard I’m working to eat all that we’re given.  What has been your plan to eat your veggies, and do you feel your diet has improved?  How could it not when you begin to add any imaginable combination to a rice bowl or pile left over veggies on a pizza?!

We’ve really gotten a handle on the veggies we’ve been receiving and we’re not too intimidated by them (like we were with the rapini or the first time we had kohlrabi), and I know our bins will be refilled each week, yet, I catch myself making a familiar decision to “save the best for last”.  Just as I tend to hoard my vacation days at work, stash my favorite running shorts for my long, weekend run, or even stash a sweet treat in the freezer, I saved two ears of corn, nibbled slowly at the broccoli,  didn’t touch the swiss chard for days!  I’ve been stingy with my favorites despite Farmer John’s command to eat my corn right away for best flavor. This is the vegetable eating equivalent of hiding something under the bed.   I keep reading messages that seem targeted at this behavior.  One of my favorite quotes on writing by Annie Dillard applies to this situation.  She says, “The impulse to save something good for a better place later is the signal to spend it now. Something more will arise for later, something better. These things fill from behind, from beneath, like well water. Similarly, the impulse to keep to yourself what you have learned is not only shameful, it is destructive. Anything you do not give freely and abundantly becomes lost to you. You open your safe and find ashes.” A bit extreme, maybe, but I did find a rather large zucchini tonight with a large, soft spot ruling it inedible.  My goal in the coming weeks will be to eat more chopped salads, mixed roasted veggies and stir fries in a effort to mix my favorites with the other treats, that of course I enjoy–Just not like I love the slightly minerally, refreshingly green leaves and neon stalks of Swiss Chard.

So, are you a spend it now veggie eater, going straight for your favorites, or are you a hoarder like me? What has your farm share with Love Farm revealed to you about your own eating habits?

Leave a comment

Filed under General Blogroll, Our Farm News

Leave a Reply

